Curriculum

  • study group

À Chavagnes, le bien-être est le maître mot du curriculum. L’éducation classique que nous proposons vise à l’épanouissement spirituel, moral et intellectuel des garçons, auxquels nous prodiguons le meilleur des traditions française et britannique. Notre succès est atteint lorsque les garçons travaillent du meilleur d’eux même, en usant des talents que Dieu leur a donné dans chaque domaine de la vie scolaire, et que leur réussite académique leur procure une certaine fierté.

Nous connaissons un grande réussite aux épreuves britanniques de Cambridge, et de nombreux élèves partent approfondir les connaissances acquises à Chavagnes en Classes Préparatoires aux Grandes Écoles (prépa), dans les Grande École ou à l’université. Grâce à nos classes de petits effectifs, nos études quotidiennes, et notre suivi individuel, en partenariat avec les parents et les étudiants, nous aidons nos élèves à réaliser leur potentiel durant ces années décisives.

Vue d’ensemble des cours, année par année

Collège Junior
(La 6ème à la 4ème, de 11 à 14 ans, « Years 7 to 9 »)

In these early years our programme follows closely the University of Cambridge ‘Checkpoint’ syllabus for Mathematics, Science and English, combined with key aspects of the French national curriculum. Classes are delivered mainly in English, supported by intensive English and French tuition. Progress is validated by Cambridge Checkpoint examinations at the end of Year 9 for English, Mathematics and Science.

Collège Senior
(3ème et 2nde, « Years 10-11 »)

3ème (14-15 ans) : Syllabus de Cambridge et de l’Alliance for Qualifications and Assessments (Alliance pour les Évaluations et les Notations) pour les examens anglais des GCSE/IGCSE ou O-levels. Contenu supplémentaire en mathématiques, en sciences et en français pour ceux qui passent le Brevet des Collèges. Certains garçons peuvent passer les épreuves des IGCSE/GCSE/O-levels un an plus tot dans certaines matières.

2nde (15-16 ans) : Dernière année d’études pour les examens de Cambridge ou de l’AQA, IGCSE, GCSE et O-levels, validés par Cambdridge ou l’AQA à la fin de l’année. Certains garçons peuvent commencer la préparation des AS-levels en prévision du lycée.

Lycée France/GB

Première (16-17 ans, “Year 12” ) :
Syllabus de Cambridge et de l’AQA pour les examens AS-levels du General Certificate of Education (GCE). Les élèves français passent en outre les épreuves anticipées du baccalauréat, i.e. les épreuves communes anticipées et un de leurs trois enseignements de spécialité.

Terminale (17-18 ans, “Year 13”):
Syllabus de Cambridge et de l’AQA pour l’A2 du GCE, conduisant à la délivrance de l’Advanced Level (A Level), permettant l’admission dans une Université britannique ou internationale. Les élèves français passent également les épreuves du baccalauréat français, dans les matières communes et les enseignements spé choisis.

Les ages ne sont cités qu’à titre indicatif. Il est commun que des garçons aient un an d’avance ou de retard par rapport à cette norme.

Facio liberos ex liberis libris libraque « Des enfants, je fais des hommes libres au moyen d’un livre et d’une balance.»

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais

Curriculum

At Chavagnes, the students’ wellbeing drives our curriculum. We offer a classical education aimed at the boys’ spiritual, moral and intellectual growth by providing only the best of British and French education. Success is measured against the boys working their best, using their God-given talents in all areas of school life, and gaining a sense of pride in their own academic achievements.

We enjoy great successes in the Cambridge Assessments, GCSEs, and A-Levels, and many of our graduates continue into further education and university with the qualifications they gain at Chavagnes. Our small classes, study timetable, tutoring and personalised teaching, in partnership with parents and the students, help each student achieve their potential in these formative years.

Overview of courses for each year

Junior Secondary
(Years 7, 8 and 9: Ages 11-14)

University of Cambridge ‘Checkpoint’ syllabus for Mathematics, Science and English, combined with key aspects of the French national curriculum. Classes are delivered mainly in English, supported by intensive English and French tuition. Progress is validated by Cambridge Checkpoint examinations at the end of Year 9 for English, Mathematics and Science.

Senior Secondary
(Years 10-11)

Year 10 (Age 14, turning 15): Cambridge/AQA syllabuses for IGCSE, GCSE and A-level examinations, with extra support in Mathematics, Science and French for those wishing to sit the French ‘Brevet des Collèges’. Some boys may take IGCSE/GCSE/A-level examinations a year early in some subjects, at the end of this year.

Year 11 (Age 15, turning 16): Final year of study for Cambridge/AQA syllabuses for IGCSE, GCSE and A-level examinations, validated by the Cambridge or AQA examinations at the end of the year. Some boys may begin AS-level study a year early in some subjects.

UK/French Advanced

Year 12 (Age 16, turning 17):
Cambridge/AQA syllabuses for GCE AS-levels. French pupils may also opt to take the Epreuves anticipées du baccalauréat, in the series ES, S or L.

Year 13 (Age 17, turning 18):
Cambridge/AQA syllabuses for GCE A2, leading to award of A-level (Advanced Level) diploma, qualifying for university entrance in the UK and internationally. French pupils may also sit the examinations for the French Baccalauréat, in the series ES, S or L.

The ages given above are a guideline only. It is common for boys to be a year ahead or a year behind.

Facio liberos ex liberis libris libraque : “I make free adults out of children by means of books and a balance.”

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)